21
Oct
11

Talking Walking Dead, Season 2, Episode 1

Mark: They’re moving on to Fort Benning. I’m not sure where all their cars came from – notably the sweet chopper – and I’m not sure how they’re moving (weren’t they out of gas?), but, like Willie Nelson, they’re on the road again. Until they hit what looks like the 401 at rush hour: a pile of discarded cars blocking the highway. And a horde of zombies, too.

I thought it was a nice intro, even if it did push it a little. A nice touch was Daryl helping T-Dog out. Wish he got more screen time (and maybe a real name), though.

 Heather: It was like they were tying up loose ends. They finally did something with the hose, the gas, etc. I think they did an alright job with it, and then things actually started happening. Our characters were being faced with somewhat realistic daily issues (a herd of zombies moving along the highway in search of whatever it is they smell or hear – or maybe they remember the commute from their previous human life and are on their way to work!).

The little girl adventure was boring. I don’t want to talk about it, but I will mention Rick’s idea was a good idea. The little girl was too stupid to stay put for longer than 20 seconds. If an adult told me to stay put in a life or death situation, as much as I wouldn’t want to – I would. I’d stay there until the sun went down.

Jay Reatard expresses his concern over the lackluster writing of this zombie-based teevee exercise

Jenn: Can I just start by complaining about the hiding from the herd under the cars bit? They established in first season the zombies could smell humans — the cloaked themselves in zombie blood to escape the city and were only noticed when the rain washed away the smell. Did we abandon that so quickly, writers? Now we can simply duck under a car and the zombies trod on by? Anyone heard of continuity?

As for the little girl, she can die. Rick had a good plan and she ran off like a moron and deserves whatever happens next. This is why, in my fool-proof zombie survival plan, I have a “no kids allowed” rule. Kids do stupid things that get the group in trouble, and even worse, parents get super emotional and do even stupider things trying to save their precious children. Just slows everyone down and always gets at least one person killed. No kids allowed!

Mark: The whole episode is revolving around breaking up: the little girl whose name escapes me takes off running and all the underlying tensions from last year come to the forefront: Shane and Andrea want to take off, since they don’t fit in with the rest (because they’re both damaged goods). I don’t think they will actually take off, but there’s still a lot of issues with the two leaders of the group.

Heather: Shane and Andrea better take off. I’m glad Laurie was able to get Andrea to stop her whining, however I did have to put up with it for most of the episode (oh, and all last season). Laurie gained a little morsel of respect from me for that. I still hate her.

What was up with her following Shane around giving him hell for being mean to her son? I didn’t think he was mean. He was stern and trying to distance himself from the boy whom he had grown fond of. He was putting a stop to a strange situation. Laurie just can’t make up her damn mind. I still have a hate-filled heart when I think of her character.

WHATS THAT SOUND? OH GOD I THINK ITS THE SHOW RUNNER

Jenn: I miss the book versions of these characters. I don’t know why Andrea kept whining and yelling at Dale (although the taking of the guns is the dumbest idea I’ve ever heard. It’s a ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE and you think only two people should carry guns, and only one should have access to the rest? So when they all die/turn into zombies themselves that leaves the rest of the group with what, exactly?) and I don’t know why Shane’s still alive. Please shoot Shane and turn Andrea back into a fully-functioning human being. Is that so hard?

Mark: This was the first one, I think, to deal with religion. I kind of liked this angle: what happens to people’s faith when the end of the world happens. Still, they kind of copped out: I’d have liked to see some other people’s reactions, not just Rick’s.

I think copping out is a good way to sum up this episode: a lot of the stuff probably sounded really cool on paper: cutting open zombies, people having a crisis of faith, hiding from a huge pack of zombies, a shot of a deer that shows life is still precious or something. It didn’t work out that well.

Jenn: The zombie autopsy was the stupidest thing. Like, so dumb. So so dumb.

Mark: It wasn’t really a disappointment, but I’m not too impressed with this showing, either: wasn’t firing the writers supposed to improve the shows writing? I hate to pick on the show’s writing, but shouldn’t the premiere be better?

Heather: From my understanding, they fired the writers and director half way through the production of the second season, so the first few episodes or so are still done by the original writers. I could be very wrong, so please correct me if so.

Jenn: I know people were upset about the writers getting fired (especially Frank Darabont) but if that brings us less episodes like this and more episodes that are realist and make sense and have three-dimension characters other than Rick, I’ll take it!

Heather: I was somewhat impressed with most of the premiere (well, enough of it to like it) until the ending. I was so unbelievably excited about my prediction of them possibly ridding of all of the people who aren’t supposed to be on the show to begin with AND the fact that Shane, Carl and Rick were all going into the forest together.

I thought maybe, JUST MAYBE, they were going to do something right and include one of the most pivotal points of the BEGINNING of the story from the comic books. But, no – they completely disappointed me with the deer/Carl shooting and left me completely unimpressed and lacking any care in the world. I was ready to write off the show then and there.

The only reason I’m going to continue watching it is because I’m intrigued as to where the next episode will take us. They may change my mind, but I doubt it. I’ve checked out almost completely.

I just don’t care about it anymore. However, the second half of the season might take a different turn, so I am excited about that. I’m looking forward to seeing what the new writers have done with the project. Hopefully good things. (One other reason I will continue watching The Walking Dead: I thoroughly enjoy having people over for Sunday Night Walking Dead Nights.)

Jenn: I too keep hoping they are finally going to turn back to the comics and follow those story lines, and I think they’re getting close, although obviously picking and choosing which ones to include. It’s kind of disappointing because there is a lot of “OH MAN SHIT JUST GOT REAL” moments in the books that I haven’t seen recreated in the show. I’m not invested in these stupid awful people (minus Rick and Glenn, who did nothing this episode), I’m not on the edge of my seat with tension when the hoards approach, I’m not dying to see what happens next, etc. I mean I will continue to watch just so I can complain to everyone I know about how the comics are better because I am that person.

Mark: The big ending: the kid gets shot at the end (so does a deer). Guess he’ll never be head of a major corporation.

Heather: UGH.

Mark: Wonder who shot him? Probably some guy with bad trigger discipline. It’s probably going to be some new girl cast member who can hang out and moody with Andrea. It’d be really cool if it was Andrea, though, and her guilt goes through the roof this season.

Leave a Reply

Archives


