19
Nov
10

Talking Walking Dead – Part Two

We’re three episodes into AMC’s newest smash hit, The Walking Dead. This week’s roundtable chat has Mark, Chel, Jenn and Heather arguing about what constitutes a lie, crossbows vs rifles and just how the hell Merle got down from the roof with only one hand. Oh and Jenn drops a spoiler, but I’m probably the only one who hasn’t read the books yet. Here’s last week’s chat.

Mark: To me, both Rick’s wife Lori and Shane are interesting characters only in how they’re kind of conflicted. I think on one level, how quickly they attached to each other shows they’re kind of scummy… but I can’t say I entirely blame them, either. The world ended. Pretty much everybody they knew is dead. Lori was under the impression Rick had died and Shane made what I’d call an entirely good call in assuming he was (after all, not much was left alive in that hospital). So I can’t say I think their affair was entirely awful. Plus, I’m getting the impression the marriage was on the skids even before Rick got shot (good call on that, Jenn!). I’m not going to agree with it, but I understand why it happened.

So, why is Lori getting all upset? I’m getting mixed signals: she volunteers Rick to go off and fight zombies and she keeps getting this crazy glint in her eyes, but she’s also on the defensive, kicking out Shane and telling him to go off and not bug her kid any longer. Maybe seeing Rick again was too much for her? That’s what I’m leaning towards. It seems she had her life kind of set into an order again and seeing Rick alive shattered that world, her world, for another time. Life just got complex really fast and she’s got two guys coming to her doorstep. I can’t really say I’m surprised she’s little wonky.

'Stop! What do you mean you've never had kimchi?"

Chel: I don’t really care for the love triangle at all. They’re trying to stretch it out to be overly dramatic and they don’t need to; it’s become annoying. That they cheat is a tad bit retarded, considering the guy is not good looking and they haven’t even been stranded that long. I guess when you have to fuck, you just settle, even if it means fucking in a tent while your son sleeps a couple of steps away. Also, Rick volunteered himself for the rescue mission. His wife just pushed him towards the idea he already brought up, because she wanted to keep him distracted. Why are they diving down into this boring side plot? I don’t think I’m the only one that doesn’t care!

Jenn: Lori is a dumb bitch. I don’t know what she expected to happen. She starts a brand new, shiny happy thing with Shane despite it being the end of the world, despite her comatose husband having supposedly just died, despite Shane being a raging douchebag pre-zombie apocalypse (remember his speech in the pilot about how all women are dumb) and despite him obviously having rage issues. Was she just hoping for the best? Granted, it’s not like anyone could have expected Rick sauntering back into the picture, but I hate how she seems so thrown off. Now that he’s back she has to stop playing house with Shane and deal with what’s really going on: not just with the literal end of the world but her fucked up relationships and life.

Heather: I’m just glad someone enjoys hating her as much as I do after reading Jenn’s response. But I don’t agree with Chel. I enjoy hating Lori as much as I get to in the TV Series. I don’t understand what you mean by Lori pushing Rick towards the idea of volunteering for the rescue mission. She didn’t want him to go at all. She doesn’t want to lose him again. Having sex next to their kid was a bit much, but where else are they supposed to go? I’m not saying it was right, as I would never do it, but the world they live in now is supremely screwy. Can’t go into the woods, Zombies might eat me. Got a kid? Too bad. If you want to bump uglies, it’s happening in the tent.

Shane sucks. I could feel sorry for Lori, but I don’t. She’s punishing Shane for making a pretty good call on Rick probably being dead, but now she’s just looking for someone to blame for her mistakes. She’s irrational and she’s a bitch. I feel more sorry for Shane than her, and that says a lot because I don’t like Shane’s character too much either.

Mark: As for Shane himself, I still think he’s a simebag, no matter how much he tries to be nice. He basically lied about Rick, he seduced his partner’s wife, he’s trying to encroach himself as a Dad. And when Rick went off to play boyscout, he got all pissy. You’re a cop too, Shane, so act like one. They’re really painting him a the villain here and while I think it’s a tad trite, they’re not going to give him any redeeming qualities: even when he was trying to a good ol cajun dad, he was still a slimeball. I’d hope he dies, but there’s no way he actually puts himself in danger.

Chel: How did he lie about Rick? I think through the panic of things everybody just assumed he was dead. But yet again I don’t really care about his horny ways. Not unless he gets jealous and kills the wife in spite. In my perfect TV series about zombies, it would happen.

Heather: He lied about Rick by saying he was dead when it wasn’t confirmed that he was at all. It was assumption, and when you assume, you make an ASS out of U & ME. Remember?

Jenn: I can’t wait until Carl shoots him. I think this season is going to end with Shane’s death which is a shame because I felt like the story really didn’t begin until that point, with Rick taking over as team captain. I also feel their attempts to turn Shane into the “big bad” are kind of weak. I’d rather be seeing the personal turmoil, the dealing with loss, and the struggles and squabbles of these complete strangers being forced to live with each other than this love triangle.

Heather: Fair enough, but remember what they’re probably preparing us for. It’ll be over soon enough.

WE HEARD YOU HAVE PIE

Mark: Merle, oh Merle. He’s absolutely losing his shit up there on the rooftop and although he’s under attack by zombies (and seriously fucking up his wrist) he probably is kind of completely crazy. But here’s what I don’t get: they – Glenn, Rock and the others – had to cut the chain to get up to the roof, but Merle was gone. He couldn’t have gone down the stairs, since it was still chained. So where did he go after he cut off his hand? And where did all those zombies go? Did he kill them all one handed (which would be pretty badass, actually)?

Chel: The roof was not that high…he could just climb off the side one armed and be fine. There were a whole bunch of vents and pipes in that area too so he has got plenty of options. Also I just wanted to say to the side – This season is only 6 episodes long…why the fuck did they waste an entire episode on the rescue mission? I thought he should have cut and run last week…I didn’t have to wait an entire episode just to see his hand at the end. We are half way through and that was not a really big climax to the episode.

Heather: I think they’re trying to make this season entirely the first trade of the book series, so this would explain why they wasted an entire episode on a rescue mission and character development. As for Merle cutting off his hand, I would have waited until I lost my mind before I chopped off my wrist, too, that is if I could find the balls within myself to actually do it.

Jenn: I’m with Chel here. I figured that Merle had climbed down the side of the building rather than using the barricaded staircase. And I also agree that seeing his amputated hand was pretty anti-climactic, as in the first few minutes of him still on the roof we were shouting “you have a saw! you can cut yourself free!”

Mark: And his brother Daryl is cool too. Why doesn’t anybody else use a crossbow? It’s such a great idea. And while he doesn’t seem quite as racist, he does seem much more crazy, which is always fun to see.

Chel: I have the crossbow vs rifles fight with Jenn all the time. I think crossbows are a good idea in theory, but they’re not suited for hunting in a zombie swarm. They would definitely be handy in training when it came to hunting food. But even that guy Daryl…it took him how many days to hit something? And he had to walk up and stab it in the eye to get the brain of it. You can’t really use them unless you’re a trained professional. I am will be over here with my rifles and guns with silencers.

Jenn: BOWS VS GUNS WILL NOT HAVE A ROUND TWO OKAY! Bows are totally useful. On a random side note, I’ve always wanted to see a horror movie where someone is asked for a gun/handed a gun and they respond with “uhh I don’t own a gun, I’m a Democrat.” Although this is the south, so maybe it won’t happen for me.

Heather: HAHAHA!

"Why yes, I think I will have another slice."

Mark: Was it just me or did the show seem really slow this week? Even right as it ended I kept hoping something was going to happen and it just didn’t happen. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like a zombie show should have at least one moment a week where a zombie pops up at you or something spooky happens. And it just didn’t happen. Looking at the preview for next week gives me the idea something is going to happen – there appears to be a cool gang – but still. Plot holes – the staircase stands out especially – and a fairly dull plot aren’t really fanning my fire here. I hope the show picks up and soon.

Chel: I think my biggest issue here is that I love the zombies, action, blood, guts, and gore more than the character drama. Saying that, I am trying my hardest to get into the character story and drama that AMC is known for. The weak story plot so far just leaves me not caring about anything. Kill off most of the cast and have something interesting happen and I will be back into it.

Jenn: Here is my mini-rant about the show this week (and in general): I will never understand why someone makes the effort to adapt a book (short story, comic, tv show, movie, play, real life, etc) if they’re just going to throw the source material out the window and create their own story. Our band of survivors have a lot to deal with – death, distrust, murder, the upcoming winter, attempting to rebuild society, etc – but we can’t get to any of that until we deal with the racist tied up to the roof? Ugh. If you wanted to deal with racism between the characters why not use the instances that actually came up in the comics? And now we have an invented abusive white trash husband. So instead of a story where the end of the world brings out the worst in people (looking at you, Lori), we’ve got the most shallow, one dimensional caricatures of bad people dealing with the end of the world. This show is far, far below AMC standards and I’m wicked disappointed.

Heather: I don’t agree. I’m still on the I Like This Show bandwagon.

0 Responses to “Talking Walking Dead – Part Two”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


